Academic Senate

President's Report

March 13, 2017 Meeting

College Planning- Accreditation Steering Committee

• The subcommittee has completed a full draft of the Quality Focus Essay. College Planning is reviewing the draft.

District Committees:

Academic & Professional Matters (3/3)

- BP5300 Student Equity approved by members
- Discussed ideas for the District Opening Day theme and workshops

Chancellor's Advisory Committee (3/3)

- The ETAC recommendation on information security training for faculty, staff, and administrators was approved
- A Governor's budget update was provided
 - o Focused on leveling off of new revenues coming to the community college system
 - Recommendation that the colleges focus on preparing for leaner economic times, while
 maximizing student outcomes with the additional funding received over the past few
 years
 - O No base funding (which is what we need the most)
 - o 1.48% COLA increase for DSPS, EOP&S and CalWorks
- 1st read of the AP5300 Student Equity
- Highlighted the work of Isaiah Nengo, Turkana Basin Fieldwork & project with students

<u>Combined Human Resources Advisory Committee/District Equity Advisory Committees</u> (HRAC/DDEAC) 2/23/17

• Report on the equity presentation to the Chancellor's Cabinet and the feedback received

Special Committee:

Faculty Association/Academic Senate Liaison Meeting (3/3)

- Reviewed negotiation over Article 16, Leaves (see FA NEWS 2/27 Negotiations Update)
- Need to request data on full time faculty 3-year evaluation cycle
- Enrollment management issues and the need for a district enrollment management plan
- Proposed administrative position at De Anza for the Office of Equity was discussed
- Need to address the issuance of classroom fob/keys on a timely manner and follow-up with administrator

Special Congratulations!

Mary Pape, Toño Ramirez & Veronica Acevedo Avila and team for a very successful 2017 Convocation! Achievement of Tenure: Manny Cappello (Business), Brandon Gainer (Speech), Emily Garbe (Business), Aimee Gillette (Film/TV), Sarah Lisha (English), Marco Marquez (Art), James Nguyen (Political Science), Terer Miskin (Nursing) and Jim Suits (Adm of Justice)

Diane Argabrite, nominated for the California Community College Chancellor's Office Classified Employee of the Year